READER REVIEWS

See reviews of Bad Moon Rising on Amazon HERE

See reviews of Bad Moon Rising on Goodreads HERE

While experiencing a crime scene that seems more like a war torn area from a bad flashback
By tammy denning on June 18, 2015
This book was engaging from the first page. It is suspenseful and exciting, with fearless characters who display inner strength and determination while maintaining their personal convictions. Stephen’s knowledge of the geographical area take the reader through the daily lives of those on a small island in Maine, while experiencing a crime scene that seems more like a war torn area from a bad flashback. Stephen’s experience as a Maine State Police Trooper and Detective provide the necessary lingo, sense of humor and insight to how law enforcement handles stress and chaos in the presence of homicide and trauma. This is a 5 star book, written by a Maine native who knows how to bring the intellect and uniqueness of Maine to pages that will leave the reader waiting for more.

I had the privilege of working with this intelligent, funny, and professional CID detective years ago in my role at a local District Attorney’s Office. Stephen Pickering is one of those people that come along once in a lifetime and can not be duplicated. I look forward to what Stephen Pickering has to offer his readers in his next book(s).

A “MUST READ” Suspense Novel By A New Author: “Bad Moon Rising”
By Judith C. Dannenberg on June 18, 2015
Just finished reading “Bad Moon Rising” by Stephen Pickering. I could NOT put this book down once I began reading it. In my opinion, this book rates 5-stars as it is right up there with authors James Patterson and Scott Pratt. The story line is captivating; well written, has vivid descriptions of the characters, crime scenes, and plots; and keeps you wanting to continue reading to see how all these plots unfold and how it is all going to end. What also made it so interesting is the fact that I know Steve personally and professionally which helped make the book even more realistic. Thanks, Steve…..I am looking forward to reading your next book!!

New Author knocks it out of the park!
Bymoflatleyon July 13, 2015
As the daughter of an FBI Agent who spent his life investigating organized crime I thought I knew a good detective story when I read one. But my long time friend and colleague retired Maine State Trooper knocks it out of the park with his new book. Covering some of the same bad guys my Dad went after in this engaging first novel the author sets a pace and never lets it lag. Set in 1970’s Maine the story is full of compelling details that flesh out a true story in a new and fresh way. I can’t wait to see what Pickering writes next. If it’s half as good as this one it will be a great read. This isn’t just the beach book of the summer, this is a new classic in an old genre. Five stars for sure!

Exciting crime novel set in coastal Maine

Byoutdoor and travel writer on August 27, 2015
I’ve always been impressed by folks who retired from careers that had nothing to do with writing, who then begin writing in their retirement years. It’s probably easier to write nonfiction, at least it is for me, but those who can write compelling novels are definitely few and far between.
I’ve been working on a novel for many years and have only gotten up to 8,000 words. Just 60,000 to go! I think it’s particularly challenging to write good dialogue, something that I value as a reader of novels.

Stephen Pickering has somehow mastered the craft of writing fiction, and he’s particularly good with dialogue. His novel, Bad Moon Rising, published by North Country Press in Unity, is, well, masterful. I raced through it in a single day while vacationing in Lubec. It’s that compelling.
Stephen retired in 2006 after a 28 year career in the Maine State Police, much of it in the Criminal Investigation Division. Perhaps that explains how he knows so much about violent crime.

Stephen’s first novel focuses on a gang of out-of-state criminals who bring a boatload of marijuana to Deer Isle, Maine. Two local brothers happened to be hanging out at the coastal mansion that the criminals had rented to offload their marijuana. And when they all met, inadvertently, at that mansion, well, let’s just say the carnage was very significant.

My only problem with Stephen’s novel is the very descriptive way he relates what happened to the more than a dozen people who got killed at the mansion. Too much information for me! But it’s easy to skip through those details and continue on toward a – well, I’m not going to give away the ending. But it’s exciting. I’m hoping Stephen is very successful with this first novel, because I want another one!

Great Book.ByKaren 505 on August 9, 2015
I enjoyed this book from beginning to end. The story left me guessing and I found myself trying to figure out what would happen next. The authors background in law enforcement really shines in the detail and comprehensive treatment of the crime scenes and in the investigation. The story is intricately woven and expertly told. I enjoyed reading this book and am looking forward to reading the authors second book.CommentWas this review helpful to you?

Excellent and quick read By Zachary P. Carleton on August 28, 2015
Excellent and quick read. Great plot that keeps you yearning for more. Great attention to detail with the characters and description of the area. Good, solid page turner. I will be looking for his next book

I really enjoyed reading this book By Wesley L. Linscott “Wes” on July 3, 2015
I really enjoyed reading this book, especially because I know the author, having worked with him for about 20 years. Steve was a member of the Maine State Police, and I worked for that department as a dispatcher at the Orono barracks which he refers to in the book. The story line and characters were good, and it was easy for someone like me to see that most of them were based on actual people. I could see how Steve changed actual names to similar ones. His knowledge of the local area is very evident in the story. I don’t know how much someone “from away”, as we say in Maine, would enjoy the book, but people from the area, and especially those involved in law enforcement, etc., will find this an intriguing story. In a negative aspect, as someone who reads a lot, I could see that the editing of the book could have been better in several instances. However, since this is his first book, and since it is not a major publisher, I can overlook such things. I hope that Steve will go on to write other such stories, and as he does, I know the little things will improve.

Four Stars By Steven Lindsay on July 14, 2015
Exciting fun fast read. Couldn’t put it down. Can’t wait for the next book.

Five Stars By elaine webb on July 18, 2015
A great read by a wonderful storyteller